July 14, 2016
MyAnimalMyHealth is Back and Better!!!
September 1, 2016

Deadline: 20th August 2016

Celebrating National Geographic’s mission of inspiring people to care about the planet, the World Legacy Awards honor today’s leading sustainable tourism destinations, organizations, and businesses, and share their stories with travelers around the world. The awards are unprecedented in their international visibility and promotion, reaching National Geographic’s global audience.


Any travel and tourism company, organization or destination—ranging from airlines to hotels, from cities to countries, and from luxury tour operators to adventure travel outfitters—is eligible to apply for the awards in one of the five categories. Only one application may be submitted in one category during any given year.

There are 5 categories of application

  1. Earth Changers

Recognizing cutting-edge leadership in environmentally friendly business practices and green technology, from renewable energy and water conservation to zero-waste systems and carbon emissions reduction.

  1. Sense of place

Recognizing excellence in enhancing cultural authenticity, including using vernacular architecture and design, support for the protection of historic monuments, archeological sites, indigenous heritage, and artistic traditions.

  1. Conserving the Natural World

Recognizing outstanding support for the preservation of nature, including restoring natural habitat, and protecting rare and endangered species, whether on land or in the oceans.

  1. Engaging communities

Recognizing direct and tangible economic and social benefits that improve local livelihoods, including training and capacity building, fair wages and benefits, community development, health care, and education.

  1. Destination leadership

Recognizing destination stewardship, including cities, provinces, states, countries, and regions that are demonstrating environmental best practices, protection for cultural and natural heritage, benefits to local people, and educating travelers on the principles of sustainable tourism.

To apply, download and fill out the application for the award that you wish to apply for, and submit the completed application form to applications@worldlegacyawards.com. For more information and application, visit World Legacy Awards



Leave a Reply